Zucchini Bread

zucchini bread It’s summer time! Our gardens are in full swing and maybe you are wondering what to do with some of those veggies that you planted. Last year I made the mistake of planting zucchini and squash…several plants of each. It was a mistake because we ended up with so much zucchini and squash that I was tired of them before they were even done producing! I froze pretty much all of it and I still have zucchini and squash in my freezer. Thank goodness for recipes like this one.

This recipe comes from my mom. Years ago we started a bakery and sold fresh baked goods at different farmers markets. This was one of the quick breads that Mom made and sold. I decided to use up some of the zucchini in my freezer by making a couple loaves of this bread!

Zucchini Bread

3 eggs

3/4 cup sugar

1 cup oil

2 cups zucchini (shredded)

1 teaspoon vanilla

3 cups flour

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon soda

3 teaspoons cinnamon

1/2 cup nuts (I used walnuts this time around, but pecans are good too!)

Combine first 5 ingredients in bowl and beat well. Stir together flour, baking powder, salt, soda and cinnamon. Add to zucchini mixture and mix till blended. Pour into two greased medium sized loaf pans (I’m not sure of the exact size, but I use the loaf pans that are just smaller then the regular large bread loaf pans). Bake at 325 degrees until done. (Approx. 45-50 minutes.)

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

