What I’m Planting: Spring 2015

What I'm Planting Spring 2015

Spring is upon us! That means it’s the time of year to plan our flower beds and vegetable gardens. Or, if you’re like me, you planned this already during the winter. Let me first say, that I am not a gardener. By any stretch of the imagination. I am better at killing plants then keeping them alive, however, I am determined to have pretty flowers this year, that I can enjoy inside and outside. With that being said, if any of you more knowledgeable gardeners have any advice, feel free to share it!

We moved to this house in April of last year; because of that, I didn’t have time to put a whole lot of forethought into what I planted as far as flowers. This year though, I knew what I wanted and so I made sure that I purchased my bulbs and seeds when they were available in the fall. (Such as crocuses, daffodils, and tulips.) Those flowers are beginning to show their pretty faces and I am getting excited for the next round of flower planting!What I'm Planting Spring 2015

I decided I wanted to plant flowers that would be equally beautiful outside in the flower beds and beautiful inside as cut flowers. Most of these flowers I have never planted before, so I have no expert advice on how to grow them (or keep them alive!). Here is what I’m planting in Spring of 2015:

  • Ranunculus

I think these flowers are simply gorgeous. They have layered petals kind of like roses, only much more delicate. I have only seen them in photos but they are breathtaking to me! From what I’ve read, it sounds like they can be difficult to grow, but I’m gonna give it a shot! I will keep you informed as to how they do.

  • Asters

I decided on the spur of the moment to plant these. I found the package of seeds at Walmart and thought they look so pretty that I couldn’t resist.

  • Dahlias

Here again, I have only seen these in photos, but they are beautiful! So excited to see how they turn out!

  • Zinnias

Zinnias will last into the fall which is a huge reason why I chose to plant these. I want to have color in my flower beds well into the fall and I think these will take care of that for me!

  • Gladiolus

These are beautiful flowers as well, and my mom had a ton of bulbs that she let me have. It is so fun to collect flowers from other people and to share my own as well!

  • Malope

I have to admit, I had never even heard of these until I was doing some online shopping for seeds. But the picture showed beautiful flowers and, well, I was suckered in.

  • Celosia

Again, I don’t think I had ever heard of these flowers until my sister said she was going to buy some. I saw the brilliant colors and thought it would be the perfect addition to my garden!

  • Marigolds

I have heard that marigolds help keep bugs away when planted around a vegetable garden, so we shall see if that holds true! I will also plant some in my flower beds for some happy summer color!

  • Poppies

I got hooked on poppies when browsing Pinterest so I decided to give these a try this year.

Those are the main flowers that I am planting this year. I am also going to plant petunias and pansies as filler where I need them. There may  be other random filler flowers that pop up in my flower beds, just to keep the color going strong all summer long! I am so excited to be able to plant these beauties soon and to watch their progress. I will let you know how successful I am!

What I'm Planting Spring 2015

What are ya’ll planting this spring? What are your favorite flowers that you plant every year? Trying something new? Have some great advice for a novice gardener like me? Leave a comment!

Leave a Reply

